I Would Have Posted, but I Took an Arrow to the Knee

Arrow To The KneeI will start this post by, very joyously, saying, “hello!” There has definitely been a lapse since I last posted, but I’m back. For a range of reasons, some of which I will disclose, I withheld from posting. I feel my gist to write is gradually returning and I can once again tantalize your monitors with the scrimmage of my words. My exile gave me the opportunity to rediscover myself and prepare for the blog.

The frequency of my blogging may change from this point forward, and some may ask why I didn’t at least make an effort to blog. This is probably the easiest of questions to answer: I believe in authenticity. I could have copied and pasted somebody’s blog post. I could have rewritten an already existing article, but I didn’t. One thing I do not stand for is going online, gathering 3 articles – and a Wikipedia piece – masticating them and spewing some amorphous editorial gunk. There are enough useless articles floating around on the Internet and I’m not about to contribute to that! When you read my work, you read me. I am constantly evolving, and at each level of my evolution I allow you to peruse.

So, what have I been doing while hiding in the shadows? A few things. For the ones I will talk about, I read books – as usual! My energy went towards three books, each of which brought some light on the manner that I read and perceive events. The first read was Tracking the Future: Top Trends that will shape South Africa and the World by Daniel Silke, the second was Navigating Your Career by Graeme Codrington and Kerry Dawkins, and the third, and probably the contributor behind the delay, was JavaScript & jQuery: The Missing Manual by David McFarland.

I wish I could say that the follow up to my JavaScript project is ready for presentation, but I must disappoint. In my endeavour to teach myself the programming language, I found that my biggest hindrance was not the complexity of JavaScript, but trying to read an e-book. JavaScript is fun – period. It’s not so complex that it should be feared and revered, but it does ask for ones time. So, where did the ball fall when I had promised a follow up post? The simple answer: I can’t read off a laptop! The constant need to scroll up and down between e-pages to validate ideas I was in the process of learning was hindered by the indifference of using a machine.

I stand my ground before the digital publishers among you and say, off my painful experience, e-books are counterproductive! Why? Because physical books make sense. Of the publishing forums I have joined on LinkedIn, there was one that argued that the physical book is dead and we now live in the evolving age of the e-book. I have nothing against the philosophy, and indeed according to Navigating Your Career, there used to be three big book stores in America; of the three, one no longer exists because it refusal to migrate to digital publishing.

Tablet PCs didn’t just come out now, some of you may recall Windows XP Tablet PC Edition, why did it fail? The netbook, why did it suddenly collapse? Windows 8 – you get my direction! There is theory and then there is the practicality of a matter. Someone once said theory and practice look identical until they are carried out practically. Yes, walking around with a tablet looks appealing, but are you learning or being entertained by it? This, I ask to everyone and would like to hear your views on this.

Without really much more to say at this current juncture, permit me to end this post with these noteworthy words, en Taro Adun!

Leave a Reply

